That’s that me espresso 

The song’s been stuck in my liver all summer.

A year ago, I stopped drinking coffee. I didn’t plan to. It’s one of those things that just happens. Wake up one morning and realise that your father dresses a little too fruity. That kind of thing. 

I learnt in the city that people didn’t simply throw milk on coffee powder and drink it. They filtered it and wanted ice cream on it. Coffee changed names depending on the way it’s pressed and how much of it is there. It is like the proverbial egg of beverages.

I was proud to be the first coffee boozer in the family. I taught my parents to love caffeine at the age they should be jogging around Burapahar. But I came to city and thought, what gay.

For all my stubbornness to change, I can give up on things and people surprisingly fast.

I had coffee to look cool. But it made me drowsier. Nobody looked cool having coffee anyway. They looked older. 

Until Sabrina came along and said Say you can’t sleep, baby, I know, that’s that me, espresso. I think Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan wrote Afreen Afreen as a response to this song. What do you think?


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started